End of Day, Nothing to Say

Standard

november2014 048

It is the end of what has been a long,tiring day for me.

I almost forgot all about my November writing commitment .

Clearly,I have nothing to write about today.

Shall I leave the page blank?

Shall I try to write a blog about having nothing to say?

I don’t think so.

Some writers might be able to pull that off. Not me.

Let me share a poem by one of my favorite writers.

It has nothing to do with me or the weather or this day, but it’s sweet just the same.

The Cornfield

by E. B. White

Up to the cornfield, old and curly,

I took Joe, who rises early.

Joe my yearling, on my shoulder,

Observed the old corn growing older.

And I could feel the simple awe

He felt at seeing what he saw.

Yellow light and cool day

And cornstalks stretching far away.

My son, too young and wise to speak,

Clung with one hand to my cheek,

While in his head were slowly born

Important mysteries of the corn.

And being present at the birth

Of my child’s wonderment at earth,

I felt my own life stir again

By the still graveyard of the grain.

There you have it. Isn’t it wonderful?

Now, goodnight!

About cindyricksgers

I am an artist. I live on an island in northern Lake Michigan, USA. I have two grown daughters, four strong, smart and handsome grandsons and one beautiful, intelligent and charming granddaughter. I live with two spoiled dogs. I love walking in the woods around my home, reading, writing and playing in my studio.

12 responses »

  1. I’m a long-time New Yorker reader and I’ve read some of EB White’s essays throughout the years, but never a poem. Wow. What a powerful voice in this poem. Loved it. Thank you. I’m thinking that EB White must have been greatly inspired by Robert Frost.

    • He never considered himself a poet, but was pretty prolific, really. Often newsy or funny and sweet…it would be interesting to know who his influences were. This one is reminiscent of Frost, in it’s everyday subject matter, handled beautifully. Thanks for reading, Gretchen, and for your comments!

  2. Hi Cindy
    Some time when you can’t think of anything to say, maybe you can tell us about Beaver Island. I have been to Mackinac Island and was amazed how it functions without motor vehicles, but have no idea what your island looks like.

    Hope you didn’t get too much snow with the latest storm.
    Regards,
    Bill

  3. Congratulations on upholding your November commitment! The poem is lovely, and it’s also good to know I’m not the only one who is out of words at the end of the day.

Leave a Reply

