Fitness House

Standard

fitnesshouse 001

There is a kind of health movement going on in my house these days.

I start most mornings with a bit of exercise, and finish my day with a good walk.

I replace one meal on many days with a high protein shake. I’m aiming for healthier meals all around. Salad is my dinner this evening.

The other day, having made a nice, brothy soup with lots of vegetables and some wild rice, I decided to make bread.

Fitness House Bread.

The recipe comes from one of my oldest cookbooks, Home Food Systems. It’s not even really a cookbook, though it does contain some good recipes. It is more a resource for providing your own food, from raising and milling grains to harvesting and putting up vegetables, to raising and butchering farm animals. Or rabbits. Or fish.

There was a time in my life when I looked forward to living a life that close to the land, and that is when I acquired the book.

I keep it now, I guess, for the sentimental memories of that stage in my life. Most of the information does not apply to the way I live or eat. Most of the product reviews are so far outdated as to be useless. Just about the only recipe I ever use is the one for Fitness House Bread.

It’s a good recipe, though. Here it is:

  • Seven and one-half cups of whole wheat flour, warmed
  • Six teaspoons of dry yeast
  • One teaspoon honey
  • Four tablespoons of molasses
  • Four cups of very warm water

Dissolve the yeast in one cup of the water with the honey. Proof until foamy.

Mix the molasses into one cup of the water.

Add the yeast, molasses and the rest of the water to the flour. Mix well. Dough will be very sticky.

Divide in two, roughly shape into loaves and place in two well buttered loaf pans.

Let rise for about an hour. Bake in a 375 degree oven for about 40 minutes, until loaves are nicely browned and sound hollow when tapped.

That’s it! Easy!

I always “doctor up” the second loaf. This time I added dried cherries, chopped walnuts, slivered almonds and currants.

My plan was to cut that loaf into thin slices as soon as it was cool, and freeze them, so that I could pull out a slice or two for toast. Unfortunately, it was SO good, i ate four slices warm from the oven.

It really doesn’t matter what the name is, it is not a fitness product if I don’t know when to stop!

6 responses »

  1. Cindy
    I love the smell of fresh baked bread. But, I have a bread machine to do much of the labor. The only problem is the size of the loaf is rather small.
    Bill

    • Maybe in my case a smaller loaf would be a good thing, since I don’t seem to know when to quit! I have been very impressed with the quality of bread that comes out of bread machines. I’m seriously considering one, as kneading breads to get that wonderful texture is not one of my strong-suits. But then I wonder about the downside of having such easy access to good bread…
      Thanks for reading, Bill, and for your comments!

  2. Those slices of bread look so good. Who can resist freshly baked warm bread? I don’t know how you stopped at 4 slices. Sure wish that I could eat whole wheat again. I must avoid gluten.

    I eat healthy all the time. Some days it’s only a protein shake made of bananas, blueberries, unsweetened soy protein powder, hemp powder and soy milk. I get too lazy to cook so this shake is pretty much what i “eat” every day. Plus lots of raisins, apples, celery, walnuts and, almonds. I try to eat broiled salmon at least 3 times each week for supper. I steam several vegetables all in one pot. Makes clean up a whole lot faster.

    But truthfully, I’ve eaten like this for years except I’ve had to leave gluten out of my diet. However, i don;t think I’m any healthier than anyone else that I know. I still feel lousy and tired but maybe its the meds I take for the afib thing plus the fact that I’m now elderly. 🙂

    • Oh, Yvonne, I’m so sorry to hear of your dietary restrictions! I have to limit soy because of thyroid issues, but I don’t really like many soy products anyway. I’d have a hard time giving up gluten! It sounds like you have a wonderful diet! I am a pretty healthy eater most of the time…but have my weaknesses. Thanks for reading, and for your comments!

Leave a Reply

