Copper

Standard

october2014 169

Last week there were reds and yellows in the woods, standing out against burnished shades of gold and occasional greens.

Several days of strong wind did not diminish the display.

Rather, as some of the leaves dropped, the sun was able to shine through the branches, making the leaves that still clung to them more radiant in the glow.

This week, after several cold nights and more wind accompanied by heavy rain, all the colors have gone brown.

We’re in copper season now!

There was a dusting of icy snow on my car when I left for work yesterday morning, a winter-like chill in the air when I walked the dogs in the evening. The wind is howling now.

I’m collecting the memories of these penny-bright days, warm sun through fiery leaves, to carry me through the next  – colder – season.

About cindyricksgers

I am an artist. I live on an island in northern Lake Michigan, USA. I have two grown daughters, four strong, smart and handsome grandsons and one beautiful, intelligent and charming granddaughter. I live with two spoiled dogs. I love walking in the woods around my home, reading, writing and playing in my studio.

10 responses »

  1. Hi Cindy
    Nice picture but probably the leaves have been blown away with 70 mile an hour winds and snow. Almost hurricane force winds. Hope you weathered the storm ok.
    Bill

  2. Cindy, our colors are brilliant right now and the first rain and snow has moved through the area. Love this time of year. I always miss the east coast but I have to admit the area around me is giving a good show. Nice pic.

    • It has been a wonderful show here this year, too! The leaves were outstanding, and even the clouds in the Fall sky have been impressive. Thanks for reading, Susan, and for your comments!

  3. I don’t envy the weather where you live. My goodness a dusting of snow already. Just the past 2 days it is has gotten colder and down into the 50’s which is cold for us. I lit my gas heater yesterday and this morning. In fact I let it burn on low all day. Now as I type i have a heating pad at my feet and one of my cats is under the cover near the heating pad. I’m afraid that we are spoiled to the hot weather and as soon as any cold arrives we become delicate creatures.

    • Yes, we have to be tough this far north….though I think cold feels colder in Texas than it does here. That sounds silly, but it seemed to me to be more “bone-chilling” when the temperature dropped. Thanks for reading, Yvonne, and for your comments!

Leave a Reply

