Reflections

Standard

october2014 168

The folks at WordPress notified me a couple weeks ago that I’ve now been writing this blog for three years.

That’s a pretty big accomplishment for me!

I am a terrific “starter.”

I’m also a pretty amazing “quitter.”

I have the best of intentions, always, and commit quite easily to numerous projects, endeavors, plans and resolutions.

I will call my daughters every week; I’ll write letters and send cards regularly; I’ll pay bills on time. I will walk every day, floss every day, make my bed every day. I will keep an organized studio, a tidy house, a weed-free garden, a well-groomed lawn.

Or, I’ll make those kinds of promises to myself, and give it a shot.

My gratitude journal never lasted more than five days before I’d set it aside for several months. Most exercise programs, the same. I started a diet last week and lasted four days before I sold out for chicken and dumplings.

This blog, I have been maintaining for three years.

I kept the commitment simple: publish once a week, or thereabouts, with no specifics on topic, tone or length.

Even so, I’ve been falling off quite a bit lately.

It’s not for lack of things to write about.

My thoughts seem to organize themselves into sentences and paragraphs all on their own. I’ve had a running narrative in my head about “Life with Dogs” that I add to almost daily. Another, loosely titled “Death All Around Me,” involves the lives – from mosquitoes and houseflies to mice and shrews – that I snuff out with little thought and even less guilt…most of the time. If anyone would be interested in hearing whining or complaining, I could come up with several blogs on a dozen different subjects right away.

Sometimes, it has been hard  to refrain from the complaining!

The fact is, I’ve been working a great deal, am behind in most everything, and haven’t had the time or energy to write. Or read. Or respond to comments. I’ve missed it, though.

For the month of November, WordPress hosts two different writing challenges. One is to publish a blog post every day. I think I may commit to it, just to get back on track.

Or at least give it a shot.

12 responses »

  1. Cindy, if you blog every day, I will read every day! I’m very proud (and envious) of you for how you’ve committed yourself to sharing regularly in your blog. I always look forward to reading it!

  2. Your voice is unique and interesting and I always look forward to whatever you share!
    We started around the same time you and i, and i can hardly believe it’s been that long yet so quickly passed.
    Congrats, and here’s to three more years!!

  3. Many congratulations! Three years is a long time to blog. I once read that the average person blogs for three years and then quits. Now don’t you go doing that on us! (Unless your inner muse says so…)

    • Three years is a long time for me to stick to anything! When something lasts that long in my life, I feel it must be an inherent part of me – my true self – because other things get sloughed off without a backward glance. Thanks for reading, Kathy, and for your comments!

  4. Wonderful news about reaching a milestone of three years. I too, like the way you write. It is one thing to write about one’s life and most of the folks that do, prove to be boring. But there are exceptions to this. Your blog and a few others that I follow are not boring at all. You write from the heart and have your own style of writing. And I like that very much.

    • Yvonne, thank you for these comments! Your presence here, as well as a few others, always make me feel like I’m doing something worthwhile with my writing, not just self-indulgent time-wasting, as it sometimes seems. Thanks!

  5. I can relate. I make my to do list every day with good intentions of getting them all done by noon and having time for art all afternoon. Somehow something else distracts me and task after task gets moved to the next day’s list. This morning I have been reading all your newly discovered blog entries – much more enjoyable than my chores which can be easily moved to tomorrow. Thanks for sharing your thoughts. Love your writing, as I do your artwork! Hugs

Leave a Reply

