Timeout for Art: No time for Art

Standard

september2014 175

I am an artist.

I wasn’t always comfortable saying that.

It seems presumptuous, still, in some ways, to put myself in the company of others that seem more deserving of that title.

It’s a true statement, though.

I am a mother, a grandmother, a sister, an aunt. I am a walker, a reader, a story-teller.

I am an artist.

It doesn’t matter, at this point in my life, whether my work deserves to be considered “art” or whether I have earned the title of “artist”…it is the core identifier of me.

It doesn’t matter that sometimes there is no time in my life for art-making. Sometimes that happens.

These last few weeks, filled with obligations and deadlines, have not allowed time for working in the studio. No time or energy for even the most casual sketches.

Sometimes, weeks go by where I don’t have a chance to talk to my family, but I still identify myself through my relationships with them. I will always be a mother, though I am sometimes a neglectful one to my grown daughters.

I am a walker, even when mosquitoes or rain or deer hunters in the woods conspire to keep me inside.

I am a reader, though I’ve been re-reading the same two paragraphs before bed for two weeks now, too tired for comprehension.

And I am an artist, even when I am unable to make art.

About cindyricksgers

I am an artist. I live on an island in northern Lake Michigan, USA. I have two grown daughters, four strong, smart and handsome grandsons and one beautiful, intelligent and charming granddaughter. I live with two spoiled dogs. I love walking in the woods around my home, reading, writing and playing in my studio.

14 responses »

  1. i agree with all of the above! it’s funny how sometimes i say, ‘i’m an artist,’ and those words are spoken with delight. there are other times, when those same words are spoken with a tone of apology….

    we are who we are, that complex mixture of sensitivity and courage, of self doubt and insecurity,and at times we don’t feel worthy to put ourselves first…. but we find our way and keep following our inner voices!

    • Exactly! You said it so much better than I could, Lisa, but tat is it, isn’t it? We just have to find our way, through what guidance is given. Thanks for reading, and for your comments!

  2. It took many years and much courage to admit to myself and to others that I’m an artist. I tried to repress it since I was a little kid when I was constantly told “Artists don’t make money” and “You’re a girl, grow up and get married” and a few other discouraging & derogatory stock phrases. It was hard to say, at first. I’m not making much art, lately, but even decorating furniture and floor cloths puts me in that ‘happy’ place where I know I’m an artist and glad to be making art.

    • Gretchen, you are creating beautiful things! I scoff at the lines we make in the sand, that to be real “art” it must be a useless object. It’s another way of dismissing the work of women, who have made utilitarian objects beautiful for centuries. Thanks for reading, and for your comments!

  3. It should be a good feeling when you can say with pride, “yes, I am an artist first and foremost.” Even though you don’t always have the time to create, I hope that soon there will be more days ahead for you to achieve the satisfaction of creating art that defines who you are..

    • Yvonne, I’m always humbled to be in the same line of work as Michelangelo…and so many great artists. It becomes more about what it feels like to me, though, than how the world relates. I’m SO looking forward to things slowing down so I can get busy in the studio! Thanks for reading, and for your comments!

Leave a Reply

