Treating Whiskey Island (*sob* without a camera!)

Standard

Beaver Island Phragmites Control

After two days when weather and transportation woes kept us away from our task, last Thursday was a godsend.

The lake was calm, the day was cool but mild, and transportation was arranged.

On this day, it was just the three contractors: Pam Hilton, Marc Seelye and Christine Miller…and me.

I’d been scheduled to work at another job, but decided last minute that I’d like to get the “full experience,” and rearranged things to make it possible. Having an even number of workers (even one as barely competent as myself) allows for splitting up and thus covering more territory.

As we set out for Whiskey Island, a narrow band of baby blue sky met the steel gray waves at the horizon. Above that, a narrow ribbon of white clouds divided that bit of sky from the ceiling of heavy gray clouds that blocked the sun and were our almost constant…

View original post 1,104 more words

About cindyricksgers

I am an artist. I live on an island in northern Lake Michigan, USA. I have two grown daughters, four strong, smart and handsome grandsons and one beautiful, intelligent and charming granddaughter. I live with two spoiled dogs. I love walking in the woods around my home, reading, writing and playing in my studio.

4 responses »

  1. sigh.. the absent memory card! we’ve all had those disappointing experiences! when i have forgotten the camera or don’t have a card, it makes me ‘burn’ the visuals more clearly in my mind than i ever do with a camera, and they stay with me much longer.

    hoo-rah for you for being proactive in your area! z

    • I found myself trying to be more descriptive in my language, to make up for the lack of pictures. Not the worst thing, I guess. It was a productive day, anyway.
      Thanks for reading, Lisa, and for your comments!

Leave a Reply

