Timeout for Art: My Daughter’s Work

Standard

katey's3

Alas, once again, I have no new sketches of my own.

This is the amazing work of my daughter, Kate.

Kate is the mother of four.

She is a full-time tattoo artist.

She’s a nursing student.

And…she has started this wonderful new series of drawings based on her facebook friends. Some she has known all her life, some are new friends and some she knows only through the social media site.

katey's2

I could try to take some credit for her incredible talent.

She did start out by abusing my precious art supplies, after all.

I could berate myself for my lack of output.

On that note, Nat, (whose The Smallest Forest blog inspires me, makes me giggle or brings me to tears)made me laugh out loud when doing exactly that. “I have managed to make a pot of coffee every morning for the past 16 years of my life, or something like that,” she wrote. That is something to think about!

katey's

I think I’ll just let you appreciate her sweet drawings, as I do!

About cindyricksgers

I am an artist. I live on an island in northern Lake Michigan, USA. I have two grown daughters, four strong, smart and handsome grandsons and one beautiful, intelligent and charming granddaughter. I live with two spoiled dogs. I love walking in the woods around my home, reading, writing and playing in my studio.

13 responses »

    • Did you hear the part about full time job, four kids, nursing school? She does paint, as well, but chooses not to pursue this as her livelihood (possibly from seeing her mother live in poverty all her life!), and time is limited. She’s good, though, isn’t she?

      • Yes, your daughter is extremely good. Somehow maybe she can do a painting here and there to get her name “out there.” I’m not sure, however, how she does manage going to school and being a mother too.

Leave a Reply

