After the Rain (and Rhubarb Crisp)

Standard

Image

I made a quick dash out through the garden when the rain stopped today.

My destination was that nice patch of rhubarb against the back fence.

I’m going for family dinner tonight, and offered to bring a rhubarb crisp.

I was anxious, anyway, to see what might’ve sprouted, after two days of thunderstorms.

 

Image

Image

My first mistake was thinking I could make an outdoor run to the rhubarb patch and back, without dousing up with mosquito repellant.

My second mistake was bringing the camera.

I was out there in prime mosquito territory without defenses, and with electronics to slow me down!

They took full advantage of the situation.

I sustained several bites, and a few minor injuries caused by trying to swat the little devils with my arms full of rhubarb.

Everything looks fresh-washed and bright, though.

Spring was a long time coming, and cool when it arrived, but I have hope that we might still get a growing season in, before autumn’s frost.

I used to make this recipe to serve to my daughters – with milk – for breakfast: sweet, but better than many packaged cereals.

Rhubarb Crisp

  • Combine 1 cup each of flour, brown sugar and oatmeal.
  • Add 1/2 cup cold butter (cut into bits) and 1 large egg; use a pastry blender or two knives to cut the ingredients together.
  • Spread half of this mixture in a buttered baking dish (mine is about 7″ x 12″, but anything close will do).
  • Sprinkle with cinnamon, and a handful of chopped walnuts or almonds, if you like.
  • Cover with four generous cups of cleaned, diced rhubarb.
  • Top with the remaining flour mixture and another sprinkle of cinnamon.
  • Bake at 375 for about an hour, or until rhubarb is soft and juicy and topping is crisp.
  • Serve warm with cold milk, yogurt or ice cream.

Image

12 responses »

  1. Gosh, your garden looks awesome, Cindy. Sorry you got so many bites. I’m just thankful to live in a place where we have VERY few. Mosquitoes love me, so Beaver Island would be bad for me, I fear. Thanks for the recipe, too. Sara loves rhubarb.

    Hugs from Ecuador,
    Kathy

    • I’m not crazy for mosquitoes, either, and they are BAD this year. My sister, Sheila, was never bothered by mosquitoes…she insisted it was because she drank so much gin. I’m not much of a drinker, but am considering picking up the habit just for that angle. I could be “the sloshed gardener!” Thanks, Kathy!

  2. Your garden is looking great! I’m glad there aren’t mosquitos where I am in CT the way you have them. It was like that in VT, too.

    I’ve gotten so I prefer a Crisp in lieu of a pie. They’re quicker and easier, probably a few less calories than pie, too.

    • Yes! Fruit and oatmeal…you could almost call it a health food! I especially prefer a crisp when rhubarb is involved. The bugs are awful this year, after so much snow this winter. It cuts way down on doing anything but what’s necessary outside. Thanks, Gretchen!

  3. The garden looks great, and the recipe even better! I’ll have to try that one out with some of Husby’s garden rhubarb. Good luck with the mosquitoes!

Leave a Reply

