Color!

Standard

Image

I have to say, I’ve been pretty darn productive lately.

Knowing my usual patterns and accomplishments (or lack thereof), I am impressed.

In the ten days so far in the month of June, I’ve undertaken – and finished – more projects than would normally get done in an entire month.

I’ve kept up with all the usual stuff, like laundry and housework, evenings in the studio and my (several)jobs for pay.

In addition, I planted my garden, mowed the lawn, trimmed the pine tree, pruned the shrubs, cut back the roses, trimmed along the walkway, cleaned out several flower beds and dug post holes to move my clothesline poles. Dug up the poles from their current location. Hauled all the branches, trimmings and weeds away.

Maybe even more stuff I just can’t think of right now.

On top of that, I delivered artwork to a gallery that is opening for the season this week, and helped to plan a little after-hours reception.

On a social level, I attended a funeral, wrote two letters, visited with Aunt Katie and had two meals out with friends!

What’s the deal?

Where is all this energy coming from?

What happened to my usual lethargy?

As I was setting out to take the dogs for their walk today, my camera beeped, letting me know the little storage card was full. To be able to take more photos, I was going to have to make room. No problem. I transfer the photos to my computer pretty regularly, so it was just a matter of deleting them from the camera.

So, as we walked along, I clicked through and deleted images taken over the course of the last several months.

Snow.

Ice.

Gray trees in a pale landscape.

Gray trees against gray sky.

Black.

White.

Gray.

This was the world I saw, through the many long months of winter.

I looked up from my task to see sunshine weaving through many layers and shades of green. Blue sky! Brown path! Flowers!

I could feel the energy in all the wild color and brightness surrounding me.

That’s where it’s coming from!

About cindyricksgers

I am an artist. I live on an island in northern Lake Michigan, USA. I have two grown daughters, four strong, smart and handsome grandsons and one beautiful, intelligent and charming granddaughter. I live with two spoiled dogs. I love walking in the woods around my home, reading, writing and playing in my studio.

19 responses »

    • I have been busy, no doubt, but it feels good to get things done. I love that pathway, too! It’s actually a mile-long driveway that leads to an old cabin, used only two weeks a year. It’s a nice , safe walk for the dogs.

  1. Good for you, Cindy! Color really does make such a difference in our lives. Just looking at and hearing the lake, brighten my day. The frozen tundra view, while beautiful, was just a wee bit too long this winter.

    • This was a long winter, no doubt. Beautiful, peaceful and wonderful in many ways…but I’m thrilled for the color, and warmth, and sunshine! Thanks for reading, Kim, and for your comments!

  2. Such an idyllic path!
    I’m not surprised your spirits and activity level have lifted…I experienced that same incredibly euphoria each time the trees began budding in Massachusetts. When nature reactivates we feel it deeply!

    • It’s true! I didn’t realize what a monochromatic world we’d had here this winter, until I was scrolling through those photos. They may as well have been in black and white! The brightness and color are so very welcome! Thanks for reading, Karen, and for your comments!

  3. I think it’s because we’ve been in hibernation-mode for such a long time. Light and color are certainly bringing us back to life. I’m getting a lot done, too, and feeling more like myself from being warm, from so much daylight and color and uplifted by things growing.

    • The longer days do make a big difference, too, don’t they? I’m glad to hear you’re getting lots done. We need this, after the long winter (lest the long limbs atrophy from lack of movement!). Thanks for reading, Gretchen, and for your comments!

  4. The energy of spring! I’m glad you’re happy with your progress!

    We were in Door Co. this week and guess what? We saw a license plate frame that said “I’d rather be golfing on Beaver Island.” Tourist season is about to begin!!

    • Oh, that makes me smile…small world! Yes, our tourist season is picking up every day. Before long we’ll be too busy to talk about it! Thanks for reading, Sara, and for your comments!

  5. The energy of the Green Man is contagious!! We are so lucky to have emerged from the long winter. Although it could get a teeny tad bit warmer, don’t you think?

    • I agree, Kathy! For every summer-warm day we’ve had, we’ve paid with three more cold and dampish days. I opened windows “for the season” but wrested them closed again last night so I could put the heater on, to get the chill out! But the greens are out there in full spring force, just in the nick of time! Thanks for reading, and for your comments!

Leave a Reply

