Garlic Mustard

Standard

Another invasive species (sigh!)

Beaver Island Phragmites Control

Image

Compared to some of the other invasive species here on Beaver Island, garlic mustard looks pretty benign.

It’s an edible herb, for heaven’s sake!

Well, if any of you have ever seen how quickly a mint plant can spread to take over the herb garden – or the lawn, for that matter – you know that some herbs can be terribly aggressive. Garlic mustard is one of them.

Add to that the fact that it grows in moist shade – like our woodland areas – and the damage it can do becomes evident.

“Garlic mustard poses a severe threat to native plants and animals in forest communities,” according to the Plant Conservation Alliance:

Many native widlflowers that complete their life cycles in the springtime (e.g., spring beauty, wild ginger, bloodroot, Dutchman’s breeches, hepatica, toothworts, and trilliums) occur in the same habitat as garlic mustard. Once introduced to an area, garlic…

View original post 273 more words

About cindyricksgers

I am an artist. I live on an island in northern Lake Michigan, USA. I have two grown daughters, four strong, smart and handsome grandsons and one beautiful, intelligent and charming granddaughter. I live with two spoiled dogs. I love walking in the woods around my home, reading, writing and playing in my studio.

3 responses »

  1. I knew about mint, as we’ve had it nearly take over our garden in the past, but I didn’t know about garlic mustard. Good info, my friend. Happy spring to you!

    Hugs from Ecuador,
    Kathy

    • Happy Spring to you, too, Kathy!
      I am learning as I go along, and am surprised by many of these plants, both in their aggressive spread and the harm that it does. I don’t get into the woods much in the summertime (mosquitoes!), but this time of year I do, and really appreciate many of our rare Spring blossoms. I’ll be keeping an eye out for this particular pest now! Thanks for reading, and for your comments!

Leave a Reply

