Bush Honeysuckle

Standard

Sometimes, when I’m not writing my own blog, I am spreading the word on invasive species in this area through this blog

Beaver Island Phragmites Control

Image

Image

I wish this plant looked a little less attractive.

It seems to have a lot going for it.

Bush honeysuckle is a nice looking plant: its glossy leaves are some of the first to emerge in the Spring, and hang on well into the Fall. Attractive, scented flowers blossom in June, followed by edible berries that remain on the bushes through the Winter. It can tolerate some shade, and its root system can help to stop erosion. No wonder they were deliberately and thoughtfully introduced to this country!

Sounds good, right?

In fact, of the four types of bush honeysuckle that grow on Beaver Island, two are native. On the surface, they are almost indistinguishable from the two types that we label “invasive.”

So, what’s the difference?

Not all non-native species are “invasive.” My hyacinths are not taking over the yard, no matter how much I encourage it. Many plants…

View original post 538 more words

2 responses »

  1. We had honeysuckle at our house when we were kids–though I don’t know what kind it was.

    Tried to read this post earlier but my link didn’t work correctly. Glad to have a second chance.

    Hugs from Ecuador,
    Kathy

    • It’s such a pretty plant! I’m pretty sure the invasive type is still sold in catalogs and garden centers. That’s probably okay for most suburban yards, but we have woods and waterways here with many plants that are endangered and plenty of unmonitored areas for a stray weed to go wild if it has that tendency.
      I tried to respond earlier to explain that I’d loaded the link wrong and was working on figuring it out, but my replies kept disappearing! Thanks for reading, and for your comments, Kathy!

Leave a Reply

