Moment to Moment to Living in the Moment

Standard

Image

I’ve been taking quite a few pictures lately, that record the slow crawl into Spring on Beaver Island this year.

The snow is receding, no doubt, but still blankets half of my garden and much of my yard. Temperatures are rising, but the dampness creates a chill. It’s not time, yet, to turn off the heaters.The ice in Lake Michigan is still posing a challenge; our ferry boat  just announced a further delay of their first trip. Flooding and freezing are still creating drainage problems. Every day there are more signs of Spring; every day there are a dozens reminders of the Winter that just doesn’t want to let go.

I am watching…and waiting.

Too much waiting leads to discouragement.

I’ve written about it before.

Waiting is that limbo state that anticipates but doesn’t offer anything. It delays and postpones. I fall easily into it at any time of year; this particular Spring is only one example.

Waiting becomes the place I am in.

When the wait is over, something will happen.

When the house warms up, it will be easier to finish all of my Spring projects.

When the snow and ice are gone, I’ll be able to get back into the garden.

When the snow melts and the water recedes, I’ll be able to get back into a good walking regimen.

When it gets warmer, I’ll feel more like eating lighter and healthier meals.

When…when…when…

What does that leave, right now? This lumpy, lazy, slothful person waiting for the elusive “when!”

No wonder I’m discouraged!

This is an old battle, with me. I’m a procrastinator by nature and have sufficient skills in logic to justify and explain.

I’m also too smart to be misled by my “logic” for long.

Then, it’s time to dust myself off and give myself a good stern “talking-to”. It’s time to rise up out of my slump and get busy. Time to appreciate each moment , frosty or not. Time to mark accomplishments, not just days off the calendar.

Life is too short, really, for waiting.

6 responses »

  1. You are so right, Cindy! How perfectly you described that feeling of just anticipating, with no real reward. I know that feeling so well, and I dread having those days! Spring has finally arrived here in Greensboro, and it certainly helps get me motivated, but then again, I’m just as likely to find myself waiting until someone leaves, or someone comes, or something (a cat?) moves…

    • Oh, thanks, Kate, it’s good to know I’m not alone in this! The sun is shining today, and the ice has left the harbor…at least enough so that our ferry boat is making a run this morning. Spring must be coming to Beaver Island, too!

  2. I know how you feel, Spring has finally sprung here in Indiana. All the winter grays seem to vanish when there are a few days of warm sunshine. It also helps we have been able to plant some of our early stuff, but it is about 3 weeks behind. We even have fresh mowed grass this morning.

    • oooh…fresh mowed grass…lovely! I crave any signs of Spring this year, more than ever before I think! It seems we have been buried in snow for half the year, at least! Thank you for reading, and for your comments!

  3. The way this Spring is coming in reminds me of what people say about being in the Army. Hurry up. Wait. Hurry up, Wait. On the warm and sunny days I’m full of energy and plans. Then we have a few days of cold and rain and I’m back to the couch, under the covers, waiting. Spring is certainly tentative this year.

    • I know! I started painting window sills and frames on a nice day when I could slide the windows open…then it got really cold again. I don’t want to paint the windows shut, so I’m back to waiting. Ugh! Thanks for reading, Gretchen,and for your comments!

Leave a Reply

