Timeout for Art: People

Standard

Image

I first became interested in art from watching my mother draw.

Mom sketched beautiful women, reminiscent of the “pin-up girls” of World War II. The hair was perfect, the lips gleamed and she could magically make the eyes seem to sparkle. I couldn’t get enough! I wanted to be able to do that!

Though my art has gone down a dozen different paths away from that early obsession, I still enjoy sketching people. I love life drawing, but can rarely get a subject to sit still long enough. I often sketch from photographs these days. Sometimes I’ll take a magazine and page through for a “model,” and use whatever materials I have at hand. A pencil sketch has an entirely different “mood” than a charcoal drawing. Colored pencils demand a slower pace, which is reflected in the finished work.

Image

Image

Image

Image

Isn’t this a familiar face?

About cindyricksgers

I am an artist. I live on an island in northern Lake Michigan, USA. I have two grown daughters, four strong, smart and handsome grandsons and one beautiful, intelligent and charming granddaughter. I live with two spoiled dogs. I love walking in the woods around my home, reading, writing and playing in my studio.

10 responses »

    • Oh, Kate, thank you! Yes, my Mom mostly just “doodled,” but her drawings were so amazing, even when just done with ink pen on scraps of paper. To me, it seemed like magic!

  1. I also love painting / drawing sketches like this. but I was never able to do so. I never draw with a pencil like that but with the help of a tool called pantographs …

  2. I’m envious of your talent, but I’m so glad you share it with us. You were born with artistic genes and I’m glad you put them to good use. Beautiful work.

Leave a Reply

