Winter Bright

Standard

Image

We’ve had a few days, here on Beaver Island, of sunshine and  blue sky!

It’s crisp and cold, but the wind has died down. The weatherman isn’t amending every temperature presented with the “wind chill” factor. The drifting has stopped, at least for now. The piles of snow are settling in where we’ve put them.

For three days in a row, I’ve been able to walk down the Fox Lake Road. Not too cold, not too icy to make it to the corner and back. The dogs had mixed feelings about it: Rosa Parks has taken a nice jaunt around the plowed driveway, and retreated to the warm house to wait; Clover was thrilled for the fresh air and exercise. I agree!

We’ve actually had quite a bit of snow melt, with the sunshine, even though the temperatures have remained steadily cold. Things that were completely hidden a week ago are beginning again to reveal themselves:  tree stump, bird bath, compost bin.

This is really encouraging!

Today, we’re into the “deep freeze” again, and it looks like we will be for at least a few days.

It seems, this winter, I need to grab on to encouragement when the sun shines!

About cindyricksgers

I am an artist. I live on an island in northern Lake Michigan, USA. I have two grown daughters, four strong, smart and handsome grandsons and one beautiful, intelligent and charming granddaughter. I live with two spoiled dogs. I love walking in the woods around my home, reading, writing and playing in my studio.

11 responses »

  1. oh how i LOVED those crisp winter blue sky days! Invigorating! This has def been a frigid season for the north! When my son was visiting i bought him new winter boots (wierdly NOT hard to find in Florida, figure that one out!!?) and he texts me daily saying “Thank God for these boots!” Some winters the snow keeps coming, and it sure is great when the sun appears in between!

    • Cold feels much colder in a warm climate, I know. My daughter is in S.Carolina, and they are freezing this winter! The houses aren’t designed for it. This has been a beautiful winter…extremes all around, but what the hell. We’d might as well be breaking records! Thanks for stopping in, Karen, and for your comments!

    • It certainly is! I’ve been reading about your extreme temperatures (111 degrees farenheit!!) and feel for you. It is easier most times to find a way to get warm, than it is to find a way to cool off in those extremes! Thanks for reading, and for your comments!

  2. Glad to hear you had a few days’ reprieve. Sorry it’s about to end. It’s even been a dreadful winter as far south as Kentucky, where my family lives. Stay warm, my friend.

    Hugs from Ecuador,
    Kathy

    • My daughter is in S. Carolina, and really feeling the winter this year, too. Here in the north country, we are at least prepared for it and set up to deal with the snow and ice. Thinking of you down there in Ecuador, with your year-round Spring! Thanks for reading, Kathy, and for your comments!

  3. We’ve been having those beautifully sunny, bitterly cold days around here in MN. The sun gives such an illusion of warmth. What a winter we’ve been having!

    • We’re breaking lots of records, that’s for sure. If we have to be cold and buried under snow and ice, we’d might as well make a competition out of it, I say. Thanks for reading, Sara, and for your comments!

Leave a Reply

