Jenny and Katey, Sleeping

Standard

Image

Image

Yes, if you look closely,  that says “Jenny and Katey Sleeping / May 12, 1984”

Obviously, this is not current work.

I can remember it, though, as if it were yesterday:

I came home from working a night shift to find my daughters asleep in the living room, Jen on the sofa, Kate on the floor beside it.

I didn’t know where their father was, or why he wasn’t home with them.

I debated whether carrying them into their beds would wake them. At nine and twelve years old, they weren’t tiny, but I could lift them when I needed to.

I made a cup of herbal tea and sat down to unwind from work, so that I’d be able to get to sleep.

I picked up a book. I put it back down.

I sat and watched my beautiful daughters sleeping.

Then I picked up pencil and paper to make this sketch.

 

About cindyricksgers

I am an artist. I live on an island in northern Lake Michigan, USA. I have two grown daughters, four strong, smart and handsome grandsons and one beautiful, intelligent and charming granddaughter. I live with two spoiled dogs. I love walking in the woods around my home, reading, writing and playing in my studio.

22 responses »

  1. Such delicate, sensitive drawings! You really captured the slumber of that moment. I am not surprised that you remember it so well, since your empathy comes through in your work.

  2. Cindy, this actually brought me to tears. There is nothing I love more than watching a loved child sleep. In fact, I used to sketch them, too, but I have nowhere near your talent. I just wanted to capture the moments, and knew that the click of the camera would wake them. These are so beautiful, as are the memories you brought back for me.

  3. What a treasure these drawings are. Capturing a moment in their life, in your life. Just think, you could have gone about tidying up, worrying, thinking about how tired you are, Instead, in time out of time, you sat in the moment. Life offers us these moments and we so rarely take advantage to just be.

  4. Cindy, love this. I have a sketch of my daughter in my drawings on my site as well. With her first daughter. Sketches are my favorite medium for some reason. Just a No. 2 pencil and a piece of drawing paper. Nice.

    • Thanks, Kathy…this drawing marks a transitional time in my life, in the months leading up to my separation and divorce. As those inevitable, sad changes hovered, I seemed to have a heightened awareness of every precious moment. I wish I could say I learned to always treasure present moments, but I get complacent, and need to be jarred back “awake” at times. I love this drawing for the memories of that bittersweet time.

Leave a Reply

