What a Difference a Day Makes

Standard

Image

Yesterday, the sun was out.

The wind had died down.

Fall colors were intense.

We took two long walks, the dogs and I.

Chipmunks were out, too, with their noisy chatter, teasing and scolding the dogs.

It was a great day to be outside!

I worked in the garden, pulling up some vines, moving some rocks and digging up a big patch of quack grass.

In a true optimistic spirit, I washed three loads of clothes, and hung two of them – all that would fit – on the line. Work slacks, long-sleeved shirts, socks, underwear, towels, washcloths, rags, one tablecloth and two sweaters. When they dried out in the sunshine, I’d bring them in and hang out the third load: sheets.

Things were still damp when we got back from our second walk, but close to dry.

I came inside and started supper.

Then the rain came, immediate and hard.

No warning to allow time for running out and snatching things from the line, to drape over chairs and curtain rods and drying racks.

Nothing to do but wait for the rain to stop.

It hasn’t, yet.

I look out occasionally to see the soggy dripping clothes. Work slacks, long-sleeved shirts, socks, underwear, towels, washcloths, rags, one tablecloth and two sweaters.

We are not venturing out into the cold and wet for a walk today.

Today, I’m in warm layers of T-shirts and sweats.

The oven is on: I just finished making granola. Cookies are going in next, to bring to work with me tomorrow. Soup is simmering on the stove.

It is a great day to be inside!

 

About cindyricksgers

I am an artist. I live on an island in northern Lake Michigan, USA. I have two grown daughters, four strong, smart and handsome grandsons and one beautiful, intelligent and charming granddaughter. I live with two spoiled dogs. I love walking in the woods around my home, reading, writing and playing in my studio.

10 responses »

  1. Cindy, even though you’re describing rain and sopping clothes on the line at the end of this post, I ended up feeling warm and cozy with a sudden craving for granola. What a difference a day can make indeed. We had an inch of snow on the ground this morning after a 50 degree day yesterday.

    • Oh, Kathy, that granola is so good! I had two bowlsful, with yoghurt! For part of the moisture, along with honey I used a bit of my homemade grape juice. Pepitas, almonds, pecans and sunflower nuts combined with the old fashioned rolled oats, then a cherry-berry dried fruit mix when it came out of the oven. Some of the best I’ve made! And UGH to your inch of snow!

  2. Sounds cozy in your neck of the woods. It may sound crazy, but I think I’m going to miss the snow. When I see above that Kathy has an inch on the ground, I think–oh, no snow this winter. Sad.

    Hugs from Ecuador,
    Kathy

    • Oh, me, too! And yes, though after three days I had to bring them – cold and damp – inside and hang them by the stove to finish, they did dry! Thanks for reading, Bridget, and for your comments!

  3. Cindy, I’m envious. It’s dry, dry, out here in No. Cal. Hints of storms pass over but don’t leave any wet spots in their wakes. I’m a fall person. Love the rain beating on the roof and being inside and cozy. Would prefer not to have things on the line when it starts, however.

Leave a Reply

