Drawing

Standard

Image

Drawing is a good word.

When you sit down to render an image, you are pulling it out of the air, really.

I also feel the act of drawing is pulling me.

It nudges me to look closely, to pay attention and to remember. It forces me to make decisions along the way.

I started my drawings this week the same way  I  worked last week, in a very small format, with permanent ink.  I went a little bit larger for sketches of a couple houseplants.

Image

Finally,  my largest offering is still only 5 x 7 inches.

Image

I’m struggling with this more than I like to admit. I’ve let myself go rusty at a skill I was good at and took a lot of pride in. It is difficult to note how hard it is to make that first mark, decide on the view, plot the composition, work in the shadow…

It’s all good exercise, though.

I started this blog after a period of great loss and sadness in my family. I wanted to slow down, to savor the days and to pay attention.

Writing has helped me to do that.

Drawing helps, too.

About cindyricksgers

I am an artist. I live on an island in northern Lake Michigan, USA. I have two grown daughters, four strong, smart and handsome grandsons and one beautiful, intelligent and charming granddaughter. I live with two spoiled dogs. I love walking in the woods around my home, reading, writing and playing in my studio.

20 responses »

  1. Maybe you needed to put the drawing aside for a time. I hope it comes back to the point where you feel proud again.

    • One thing I know for sure, Annie, it will not come back if I put it aside! I’m enjoying the effort, and the practice (though I have been a bit of a complainer about it) and plan to continue with it. Thanks for reading, and for your comments!

  2. Cindy! Your drawings are so beautiful! They might not be back to the level where you once were, but I see absolutely nothing wrong with them. They’re lovely, well drawn, strong yet delicate. It’s your left brain trying to convince you otherwise! I look forward to seeing more and more of your work!

  3. Cindy, I think your drawings are excellent. I am far and away from being an artist but these really all are good. You have a special talent for art and writing. Not many people can say they write and draw
    .
    I look forward to seeing more of your ink drawings.

  4. I enjoyed looking at these drawings…and I love the connection you made between the word “draw” and the task of pulling something from the universe. Very cool. Keep on, Cindy!

    • Shelley, I always look forward to your comments! You take notice of subtleties in the writing craft, beyond what I am saying, and are always encouraging. It is much appreciated. Thank you for taking the time!

  5. Cindy, I blinked twice to see the quality of your drawings! I couldn’t do this in a hundred years. It seems that your drawing may be calling you once again–that something wants to come forth from it. Would love to see more drawings here on your blog when you have some you’d like to showcase.

    • Well, Kathy…I can be such a procrastinator I hate to commit in writing, but I have joined Lisa at Playamart – along with several others she has encouraged – in a weekly drawing commitment. So…I plan to draw each week and post some results each Thursday. Thanks for having a look, and for your kind encouragement!

  6. I’m in awe of your talent! I so wish I could draw. People have told me it’s a learned talent but I don’t believe it for a minute. I hope you continue to find joy in your sketching, because seeing them is a joy for me.

    • It really is learned…and un-learned, too, if it’s neglected. I have always loved to draw, that helps, but I sat in drawing class for twelve hours a week for many years, too. I sometimes teach a “learn to draw in two hours” class, and I’ve converted many people who thought they couldn’t draw. But thank you so much for the compliment!

Leave a Reply

