Found!

Standard

Image

In early December, the title was “Lost!”

The subject was my red notebook.

I was planning to write about my friend, Emma Jean. She was one of many on a list of “60 most influential women in my life” that I had compiled at my sixtieth birthday. The list was in the notebook, along with other lists, poems, quotes and ideas.

The notebook was lost.

It seemed that everything hinged on information it contained.

Should I start reading just any book, when the notebook contained a list of books I want to read? How can I finish a letter without the quote I had planned to include? Could I write a blog without notes and ideas collected for inspiration?

I was stalled, for the loss of my red notebook.

Finally, I had to resign myself to the idea that I might never find it.

At last, I had to move on without it.

I managed. I bumbled forward. I got by without it.

But I never stopped noticing the loss.

Last week, getting ready to go away for a few days, I pulled my little suitcase out of the attic.

Inside, along with the little travel slippers I keep there, was my red notebook!

Contained within are all the things I knew were there, the bits of information that I’d felt the need for and sorely missed all these months.

Here, the notes on the diet plan I knew would change my life, the lists of books and websites and movies!

Surprises, too!

Here, a poem I had forgotten about…a quote that brought tears to my eyes…the notes for my sister Sheila’s eulogy, jotted down on a tearful drive nearly two years ago. Here, a bundle of old photographs tucked between the pages…a recipe for home-made sidewalk chalk…my menu for Christmas dinner, 2011.

It’s such a joy to find something that’s been missing, I have half a mind to start hiding things on myself!

“Although the world is full of suffering, it is full also of the overcoming of it.”

~Helen Keller

18 responses »

    • Oh, I remember that about moving, Bridget! Often things would be found just moments after they were replaced. I used to move twice a year, with teen-aged daughters, from our home on Beaver Island to the college campus where I was finishing a graduate degree. By the time I got my diploma, I had two of everything! Thanks for reading, and for your comments!

  1. What a relief! I hope you have fun rekindling the close and secret relationship you have with your red notebook. You have a lot of catching up to do!

    • Now the problem is replacing the smooth-gliding black pen I used to write in it with…but that’s a pretty easy thing to do. I was too focused on it’s loss, and over the top thrilled to find that book! Thanks for reading, Sara, and for your comments!

  2. Wow, I am so happy that you found your book. It must have been a great surprise and relief. When I lose things like that, I never find them again.

  3. Wow, CIndy, thank God you found it!

    Sorry to have been away so much recently. I’ve been busy moving, moving, moving. We leave for Ecuador two weeks from today!

    I promise an actual post tomorrow! It’s been nearly two months since I’ve written. Yikes!

    Hugs,
    Kathy

Leave a Reply

