Six Days Into The New Year, How It’s Going So Far

Standard

Image

I want to be on top of it this year.

I don’t want to look back and wonder.

I know 2011 was a difficult year.

It wasn’t all bad, but it held some of the hardest times I’ve ever experienced.

Living through it, and being able to continue on, was the best part.

Going into 2012, I was filled with optimism. I was glad to put that old, sad year behind me. 2012 was going to be a good year!

Chinese New Year followed shortly after. The Year of the Dragon! I was born in the year of the dragon, considered the most powerful sign in the Chinese calendar. That had to be a good sign, right? The year of the dragon would be a wonderful year for me.

In August, I turned sixty. 60! I’ve always loved those round numbers! This has to be good…doesn’t it? “This year, aged sixty, will be my best year yet”, I told myself.

Over and over, as things seemed to turn from bad to worse, uglier and uglier, I said, with less and less enthusiasm, “My best year yet!”

I will not bother with the details. I experienced job troubles and money problems. There were difficult encounters and lost friendships. Illness and death, both human and canine. Car trouble and lawn mower trouble. A roof that was leaking buckets-full…through the new attic insulation…pouring out through the light fixture in the laundry room…ruining the floor. And on, and on.

I’ve thought, perhaps, I’m just focusing on the negative.

No, I think the opposite is actually true.

But I wasn’t wearing blinders, either. I experienced the bad as well as the good.

2012 is behind me. It wasn’t the worst, but it fell far short of my expectations for it.

February 10th will mark the beginning of the Year of the Snake in the Chinese calendar. The dragon was not particularly good to me.

Come August, I’ll be back in those other pesky numbers, with five years before another round number in my age. Sixty hasn’t been the worst, but so far it has quite a way to go before it could be considered my best year yet.

I’m not going to put so much pressure on 2013.

This doesn’t have to be the best.

This year, I will have no expectations.

The year will unfold.

I’ll deal with the rough times.

I’ll enjoy the good times.

I will laugh as much as possible.

Just like last year.

Six days in, it’s going okay so far.

16 responses »

  1. Well, I know my year will be just a little more enjoyable if you keep blogging, Cindy! I look forward to each of your posts, and I’ll join you in trying to focus on the things that are good. Surely we have lots of that ahead of us, just maybe spread out a little further than it used to be!

    • Yes, or maybe our memories leave room for the good things and cloud over the bad, so that ordinary years seem golden in retrospect. And yes, lots of good ahead for both of us, I’m sure! Thanks for reading, Kate!

  2. Sad, yet hopeful. It is good to read your words. Last year for me was more prosaic than terrible, and yet I feel like nothing much has changed for the better, but nothing dramatically for the worse either. I’m being mobbed by two savage children as I write this, and another is on the way this year–I guess they are one of the highlights of the year, but sometimes it’s a toss-up. Maybe this year we’ll come home for good. Probably not. But hopefully we’ll be one year closer.

    “You may encounter many defeats, but you must not be defeated. In fact, it may be necessary to encounter the defeats, so you can know who you are, what you can rise from, how you can still come out of it.”
    ― Maya Angelou

    • Ah, thank you for this beautiful quote, Patrick! I love Maya Angelou, and these words are profound. 365 days is a long time span…I think the error was in my unrealistic expectations. Since our memories are filtered through the years, no current year could ever match those golden, remembered times. Thank you for reading, and for your thoughtful comments!

  3. The year will unfold.

    I’ll deal with the rough times.

    I’ll enjoy the good times.

    I will laugh as much as possible
    I think this is probably the best choice, the best advice possible.
    Here’s to a year of unfolding, of dealing, of enjoying and laughter, oh yes, much laughter.

  4. Wow-wee! You had a run of really bad luck. Lots of people would not survive all that. I’ve had a rough past year with an adult child who had been really ill. But I am praying and hoping for better days. I hope your days will be better as well.

    • Thank you for your thoughtful comments. Actually, I was focusing on the negative, I think, to emphasize my unrealistic expectations, but kind of got caught up in it as I went along. It sounds like your challenges were much greater than mine. I’ll hope for you, too, that better times are coming. Thanks for reading!

  5. I’m glad things are okay six days in. I think you’re on the right track to have no expectations. Then you’ll never get disappointed. I know that sounds kind of negative, but lack of expectations also forces one to live in the moment, good or bad. Instead of waiting for something to happen we are surprised with the spontaneity of it all. Cheers to a new year, come what may!

    • I agree! The saddest person I know is a dear friend whose line is “things will work out”. She’s a great optimist, but is generally disappointed. I normally take the opposite tack, and am pleasantly surprised when things do work out. I think “NO expectations” is best, just letting the days unfold, letting the good times roll…Thanks for reading, and for your comments, Sara!

  6. Year of the snake huh. That ought to make for happy times around your place. I’ll never forget finding the largest shed garter snake skin I’d ever seen on your kitchen floor; only to wonder where, and how big that snake was then.

    • You gave me a good laugh with that memory, Bob! You’re right…though I’ve decided to do away with high expectations, the year of the snake should be a very good year, down here on the old Fox Lake Road…where we grow garter snakes as big around as your arm…
      Thanks for reading, and for your comments!

  7. If we can let go of expectations, maybe we’ll celebrate more the small things. I am hoping to let go of expectations. Six days in–I haven’t done too good so far. Maybe at 12 days in? Blessings & hugs to you, Cindy of the Magic Island!

    • I’m sending blessing your way, too, dear Kathy, and lots of wishes for sunshine and joy all around this winter. As I’m reading through other blog posts, I think there was a gloomy world-wide funk last weekend, not just here in my corner of the world. The best tack, you’re right, I’m sure, is to let go of expectations. Let’s just open our eyes in wonder every single day, and be ready for whatever comes our way.
      Thanks for reading, and for your comments!

Leave a Reply

