Winding Down

Standard

Image

Autumn.

The wind is shaking leaves from the trees so steadily it sometimes sounds like rain.

There’s a chill in the air. Nights have gotten downright cold! I’m not yet ready to turn on the propane, but I’ve conceded to having the electric heater on a low setting, just to take the chill off.

I’ve cut back the iris into little fans just above ground level and pulled the daylily stalks. I dug up and moved the last of the daylilies from the border. I’ve pulled up all of my tomato plants, stored their wire cages and turned over the soil. I cut out all the dead raspberry canes and pruned and thinned the rest. I cleared and prepared a bed for the rest of the strawberry plants.

I dug the last of the potatoes and brought in five small winter squash. I have a bag of mixed peppers in the refrigerator that I’ll dice and freeze tomorrow. I have beans, summer squash and plenty of berries in the freezer already. My aunt (bless her heart) canned tomatoes for me: twelve perfect quarts.

I moved my T-shirts and sleeveless shirts to the small dresser upstairs, and brought down my long sleeves and sweaters.

I bought yeast, though I haven’t had time or inclination to make a batch of bread yet. Home-made soup and warm, fresh bread is a weekly ritual in the months of cold weather.

The little gallery I worked at is now closed for the season. The restaurant at the Lodge served it’s last dinner of the season last Friday. I am now down to one job, at the Shamrock Restaurant and Pub downtown. Until next marking period, when I’ll teach two art classes at the school as well. Business is still steady, but it’s an easier pace than it was even two weeks ago.

I think I’m done with Jonathan Kellerman! His books were good summer reading, with characters that became familiar and story lines that were not overly strenuous. I’ve been looking over my bookshelf, and am ready for something quite different. I’ve already started The Chicken Chronicles by Alice Walker, and am thoroughly enjoying her beautiful prose. I’m looking forward to Sacre’ Bleu by Christopher Moore, his take on the Impressionist artists. I love his irreverent humor and imagination! Happier at Home by Gretchen Rubin, Revelation in the Cave by Nancy Flinchbaugh and Yonnondio by Tillie Olsen are also on my stack.

I’ve been doing some rearranging and organizing in the studio. I have a few paintings underway that I’m anxious to finish, now that I have time for making art. I want to get the printing press adjusted and ready, too, as I plan to do some collagraph print-making this winter.

Autumn was always my mother’s favorite season. I didn’t understand it when I was younger. I liked Spring, with its new growth and fresh starts and Summer’s heat and busy-ness.

Now, I understand!

14 responses »

    • I’m always so happy to have you read what I write. Thanks for that, and for your – always generous – comments!

    • I could never understand it until recently…used to call it the “season of death” because everything was dying back, leaves falling, etc. Now, I really appreciate it. Thanks for reading!

    • I think we’re all ready for the slower pace! I think me slowing down in general has a lot to do with my new appreciation for Autumn! Thanks for reading!

    • I agree with the idea of this season being comforting. Despite the cooler temperatures and some cold, rainy days, it is comforting to get out the sweaters and blankets, put soup on the stove, start using the oven again…thanks for reading!

    • Thank you, Claire, for your – ALWAYS – generous comments! I hope your little getaway is giving you a bit of relaxation time as well!

  1. It sounds like you’re all organized and ready for that upcoming winter, Cindy. Putting away the summer clothes and bringing out the winter ones is one of those annual milestones. But are you having a little warmer weather this weekend? We are. May it last a little longer…

    • We had one beautiful day Wednesday…the dogs and I were out from morning ’til after dark. The rest of the week has been sunshine, clouds and rain, in turns, each day. Still, for the middle of October, it is pleasant. We need the moisture so badly after two mild winters, any kind of precipitation is welcome here! Thanks for reading, Kathy!

  2. I’ve always loved autumn. The trees are going out in a blaze of glory and the coming still and quiet of winter is exciting to me. I read this post before our trip to the Door Peninsula and thought about it when I saw some shops were already closed for the season. Such a burst of energy is needed for tourist season, and such a lull the rest of the year. I hope you’re ready to snug in!

Leave a Reply

