Light-Hearted

Standard

Image

A few conversations that are keeping me smiling:

Patrick: “Yuck, Grandma Cindy, I think I just got mosquito repellent in my mouth!”

Me: “Yuck!”

Patrick: “Will that kill me?”

Me: “No!”

Patrick: “It says don’t get it in your mouth!”

Me: “Well, it tastes nasty, doesn’t it? A little bit is not going to hurt you, though. Any side effects wouldn’t be noticeable until you’re a very old, old man.”

Patrick: “Oh, so Grandma Cindy, you don’t have to even worry about it, right?”

Me: “I guess (thinking, “sure, at my age I could eat the stuff for breakfast!”)”

~   ~   ~   ~   ~   ~   ~   ~   ~   ~   ~   ~

Tommy: “Why are those butterflies stuck together?”

Me: “I think they’re having sex.”

Patrick: (with extremely pained expression) “Ugh! Oh, gross, Grandma Cindy, you should just say BREEDING.”

Tommy: “What is BREETING?”

Patrick: “It’s BREEDING. It means they’re having sex.”

~   ~   ~   ~   ~   ~   ~   ~   ~   ~   ~   ~

Madeline: (on seeing a photo where Tommy had given her “horns”) “Oh, I wish he hadn’t done that. That’s really unfortunate. I’m going to have to ask my Mom to photo-shop that out of there” *

* Later, when I saw photos my daughter took of the kids on the way here, I noticed that Madeline was giving her little brother, Tommy, “horns” in almost every single picture!

~   ~   ~   ~   ~   ~   ~   ~   ~   ~   ~   ~

Madeline: “Well, this is all okay, Grandma Cindy, but I think next year when I visit, I’m going to come all by myself.”

~   ~   ~   ~   ~   ~   ~   ~   ~   ~   ~   ~

Tommy: (In the big waves at Iron Ore Bay) “Grandma Cindy, this is AWESOME!!!”

~   ~   ~   ~   ~   ~   ~   ~   ~   ~   ~   ~

I agree…the entire week with them was awesome!

16 responses »

  1. Sums up the kids nicely I think! I laughed like crazy! I especially loved the moth sex story…the things that come out of that boys mouth are rotten but they crack me up!

    • So many things are forgotten if not documented…those precious, funny moments you think you’ll never forget. I still look over notes I took when my kids were small, and remind them of things they said. Thanks for reading!

  2. It sounds like everyone had a blast! It’s really fun to document some of the things kids say and to record time well spent with people you love. Sweet memories for all!

    • We did have fun! I wrote down things my kids said, thirty-plus years ago, and still get a chuckle from some of the things that came out of their mouths. I always hope to remember, but so much is forgotten over the years, it’s good to have photos, and special moments written down. Thanks!

  3. What a wonderful time you had, Cindy! I loved the things the kids said. Enjoyed the first one especially. You are lucky to have such adorable grandkids. You could send these around as email forwards. 🙂

Leave a Reply

