Mikey

Standard

Image

Today, my oldest grandchild turns nineteen years old.

When his Mom was that age, I wrote a poem that asked “where are all the days…the common moments of my daughter’s life?”

I feel the same today.

I remember when Michael was born, all bright eyes and big feet.

I remember moments, incidents, hugs and giggles through the years. But years! Where have these nineteen years gone?

That beautiful little boy has grown into a big, handsome man, treasured, still.

Happy Birthday, Mikey!

About cindyricksgers

I am an artist. I live on an island in northern Lake Michigan, USA. I have two grown daughters, four strong, smart and handsome grandsons and one beautiful, intelligent and charming granddaughter. I live with two spoiled dogs. I love walking in the woods around my home, reading, writing and playing in my studio.

5 responses »

  1. Bittersweet is the perfect word for what you describe. I have a nephew who just turned twenty. TWENTY! Amazing how the time flies by. So miraculous how these little bundles of chubby baby-ness turn into strong handsome men. We’re fortunate to have been here to see them grow. You certainly have a grandson to be proud of.

  2. He looks so sweet and so filled with the possibilities of life, Cindy! Agreeing with Sara about that word “bittersweet” when we look at our beloveds and feel that love. How wonderful that you honored him here. Are you busy busy in your garden?

    • I am busy, busy, busy…but not in the garden. I just said good-bye to three young grand-children and one daughter yesterday, then worked an eleven hour day at two of my many jobs. I AM going to get a chance to write about all of it very soon, though. Thanks for reading!

Leave a Reply

