Happy Easter!

Standard

Image

I’m doing quite a bit of juggling today, to get everything done that I want to do.

I started the day with a very pleasant, early phone call from my grandson, Tommy. Before I got off the phone, I had also spoke to Madeline, Brandon, and my daughter, Kate. The younger ones were wide awake and enthusiastic;Brandon and Kate a little less so.

Image   ImageImage

By the time our very entertaining conversations ended, the dogs were more than ready for their first walk, so we headed out. We got a bit of rain last night, so everything is looking fresh. The trout lilies, spring beauties and Dutchman’s breeches are showing their leaves in the woods…no flowers yet, though. The wild leeks are the brightest green; they will be ready soon.

I’m trying to get some garden clean up done every single day, no matter what, so that was next. I made good progress clearing grass, leaves and roots from the beds where I’ll put my tomato plants. Clover relaxed…

Image

in the back flower bed, while little Rosa Parks…

Image

dug this gigantic hole:

Image

Almost eighteen inches deep, no kidding!

I’d saved last night’s dishes, because nothing cleans the garden grime out from under the fingernails like a sink of soapy water, and that was my next job.

Remembering Easters with my Mom and Dad, I decided to do up a small batch of onion-skin dyed eggs. I only had a few onions (as kids, we used to save the onion skins for months ahead, to be ready for Easter!), so I used a small pan and did only six eggs. I put the onion skins in first – just the brown, papery covering – and covered them with cold water, then nestled the raw eggs into the pan, and hard-boiled them as usual.

Image

The finished results are quite pretty, I think.

Image

Now, I’m making dinner rolls and dessert to bring to Aunt Katie’s house at dinnertime. The milk is scalded, butter and sugar have been added, and it should be just about cool enough now to combine with flour, salt and yeast. While my dough is rising, I’ll be peeling apples for pie.

Happy Easter!

13 responses »

  1. Good morning, Cindy, almost a week later. I, too, admire your idea to use the onion skins. I also liked your story of an ordinary day talking with family. Hoping you had a happy Easter dinner at Aunt Katie’s. Fun looking at your pictures of family & dogs.

  2. Thanks, Kathy, for having a look! This was a bit of everything, jumbled post…but that was kind of like my day, so it was fun to just throw it all in together. Dinner at Aunt Katie’s was very nice, thank you…I hope your day was wonderful, too.

Leave a Reply

