Timeout for Art: Begin Again

Standard

art 001

I’ve missed several weeks, now, of “timeout for art.”

My friend, Lisa, is more consistent, though she has issues with internet speed and service in rural Ecuador.

I have no good excuse.

After spending several days in an embarrassingly dark, dreary mood, I decided I needed to shake myself out of it.

I had a good cry.

I took a long walk.

I telephoned my sister, Brenda.

I went to visit and had good (though heavy – on my part – on the self-pity) conversations with friends: Mary, Sue and Gwen.

I had a long, serious talk with myself.

I need to pull myself together and get on with life.

For a start: fulfill simple obligations.

Timeout for Art.

This collage is one of four intended for the Museum Week Art Show.

It’s not a great photograph, but I like these large format (20″ x 26″) collages. Each incorporates hand-made paper, bright colors and some three-dimensional details, in this case, sewn on buttons.

These collages, though fun to make, gave me trouble. First, they buckled as the glue dried. To fix that problem, I painted the back of the surfaces with polymer medium, layered them between plastic sheets (actually, trash bags) and weighted them down with a sheet of plywood. Then they took too long to dry. They have been sidelined to the “Meet the Artist” Show, which is August 2nd at Livingstone Studio.

If nothing else goes wrong!

 

 

 

About cindyricksgers

I am an artist. I live on an island in northern Lake Michigan, USA. I have two grown daughters, four strong, smart and handsome grandsons and one beautiful, intelligent and charming granddaughter. I live with two spoiled dogs. I love walking in the woods around my home, reading, writing and playing in my studio.

2 responses »

  1. One of the best parts of “doing art” is that it can sometimes tease us out of our challenging times. It seems so important that we remember to nurture ourselves and keep asking “What do I want/need right now?” That question keeps making a huge difference in my life. Love the collage you created. And that you have friends & family to nurture you.

Leave a Reply

